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Question #1

In a club championship, Players A and B are scheduled to play a match at 10:00am, the last tee
time for the day. There is no starter on the first tee. Player A arrives on the tee at 9:55am, but
there is no sign of Player B as of 10:01am. (Breach of Rule 5.3a) Player A knows he has won the
first hole and the match will begin on the second hole should Player B arrive, so he gets in his
cart and drives to the second tee, which is not visible from the first tee. (A should wait on the
first tee to see if B arrives. How would B know if A arrived before them? What if B had
exceptional circumstances?) Player B then arrives on the first tee at 10:03am and decides to
wait for Player A. (Exception 1 of Rule 5.3a applies, Player B receives general penalty on Hole 1.
B is correct to wait on Hole 1, since he does not know A’s status.) Player A waits on the second
tee and when B doesn’t arrive by 10:05am, A decides to play a few holes by himself. At 10:10am,
and with still no sign of Player A at the first tee, Player B decides to call the Official in Charge for
a ruling. What is the outcome of the match?

Player A wins the match.

Player B wins the match.

—
The match must be rescheduled. M(JA

Both A and B are disqualified. 1897 ——
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Question #2

On the Par 5 9t hole in match play, Player A and her opponent Player B have second shots into a blind green.
Player A's second shot lands in the front of a sloping greenside bunker. Player B's second shot goes into the
same bunker and B's caddie, who had gone ahead to forecaddie, hears B's ball hit A's ball. When the players
arrive at the bunker, both balls are within one foot of each other and there is a pitch mark in the bunker
about two feet closer to the hole than both balls. Player B asks her caddie if she saw the location of A’s ball
at rest before it was hit, the caddie replies that she could only hear the contact, she was not able to see into
the bunker from her vantage point. (We have knowledge that the balls made contact from the caddie, A’s
ball has moved, need to replace on original spot) Unsure of what to do, A and B agree that A will play two
balls and they will obtain a ruling from the next official they come across. (Incorrect, playing two balls is not
an option in match play) Player A plays the ball at rest onto the green, then places a ball at the pitch mark
and plays it on to the green. (A plays the first ball from a wrong place, general penalty, loss of hole, Rule
14.73a) Player B then plays onto the green. A 1-putts with the first ball and 2-putts with the placed ball. Player
B 3-putts. What is the outcome of the 9t hole?

Player A wins the hole.

Player B wins the hole.

7~
The hole is tied. M‘ A
A & B are disqualified.
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Question #3

In stroke play on the 7t hole, Player A lies three on the fringe. Player A is asked to mark his ball on the fringe
by his marker, Player B. Player A marks the spot, lifts the ball, and places it in his pocket. After Player B plays
his ball on to the green, Player A removes the ball from his pocket and replaces the ball on the spot. After
replacing, A notices some small blades of grass on his hand and goes to his towel to wipe them away. (A has
unknowingly cleaned the ball (Cl. 14.1¢c/1), this is not permitted when lifting because it interferes with
play, 1 PS) While doing so, a gust of wind blows the ball into deep rough 10 feet away. (A must play from
new spot, Rule 9.3 Exception 2 does not apply since it stayed in the general area) Player A chips on to the
green from the new spot and leaves himself a 6-foot putt. Player A slips after making the stroke and the ball
hits his foot (No penalty), ricochets off his caddie’s foot, and bounces into the hole. (A must replay the
stroke once it hit the caddie’s foot, Rule 11.1b(2)) Player A then tees off the next hole. (Did not replay
stroke, general penalty, the putt counts) What is Player A’s score on the 7t hole?

Talent Strokes Penalty Strokes

A. 5
B 6 1, 2, 3 - “Lies three on the fringe” 1 — Cleaning ball when
' not permitted
C 7 4 — Chips on to green 2, 3 —Did not replay
D. 8 for ball deflected by
caddie

5 — 6-foot putt
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Question #4

In stroke play with Model Local Rule F-5.2 in effect, Player A’s ball after her tee shot is on the fringe about 50 feet
from the hole. On her line of play is a sprinkler head, which is approximately 3 feet from her ball, and 2 feet from
the green. Player A elects to take relief under the MLR and drops her ball into light rough that is within her relief
area as she prefers chipping to long putting. (Correct procedure)

She proceeds to blade the chip, coming to rest on the green behind a sprinkler head that is also on the green. She
arrives at the ball and realizes that the sprinkler head is blocking her line of play. Preferring again to take relief, she
determines her nearest point of complete relief which is in the fringe, and drops the ball 6 inches behind that point.
(Ball required to be placed on the nearest point of complete relief since it was on the green, Rule 16.1d) Player A
chooses to putt this time, which comes up 4 feet short of the hole (A has played from a wrong place, general
penalty, Rule 14.7a) . She marks and lifts her ball, then tosses the ball to her caddy who cleans it and replaces it on
the mark. (Caddie cannot replace the ball since the player lifted it, Rule 14.2b(1)) Player A holes the 4-footer. (1 PS
for playing a ball replaced by someone not allowed to do so) What is Player A’s score for the hole?

Talent Strokes Penalty Strokes

A 4

1 — Tee Shot 1, 2 — Wrong Place,
B. 5 not serious breach
C. 6 2 — Bladed chip 3 — Playing ball
D. 7 replaced by caddie

3 — Putt to four feet

4 — Holed putt
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Question #5

In stroke play on Hole #10, Player A's tee shot is pulled well left into the practice range, which is considered in-bounds.
Player A’s caddie says that he has a good idea of where the ball came to rest. Player A declares a provisional and decides to
switch to a lesser club to play it safe. (Proceeded correctly) The provisional lands in the fairway, 40 yards short of where his
first ball entered the range. Player A decides to play the provisional first (Permitted, the provisional is not beyond the
estimated spot of first ball), and sends his caddie to the range to begin the search for the first ball. As the caddie arrives at
the practice range to begin the search, Player A hits the provisional on to the green and then heads towards the range to
assist. After 60 seconds there is no sign of A’s ball, only a handful of yellow range balls are in the area. They decide to head
further down the range to continue the search.

As the search hits 2 minutes and 40 seconds, A’s caddie passes a parked range picker filled with yellow balls, but notices one
white ball in the till. Upon closer inspection, he sees what he believes to be A’s identifying mark and calls A over to confirm
this is the first ball. A arrives 30 seconds later and confirms that this is his first ball, and calls out to his marker that he is
abandoning the provisional. (Ball was found in time, A is allowed a reasonable time to reach ball to identify even if it goes
beyond 3 minutes, Rule 18.2a(1)) Player A retrieves the ball and walks back to where he first began to search, estimates the
point where he believes the ball would have been at rest, and drops in the relief area. (Ball must be replaced on the
estimated spot, not dropped, Rule 9.6) He plays the next shot into the greenside bunker (Played from a wrong place, not a
serious breach, general penalty), takes 3 further strokes to hole out, and tees off on the next hole. What is Player A’s score

th ?
on the 10™ hole: Talent Strokes Penalty Strokes

A. 5

B. 6 1 — Tee Shot 1, 2 — Wrong Place,
C. 7 not serious breach
D. Player Ais disqualified. 2 —Shot into greenside bunker

3, 4,5 - “three further shots to

E———h0le OUL”
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Question #6

Players A, B, and C tee off in a stroke play event. Their tee shots each hit trees and bounce back
towards the players, coming to rest where there is interference by a tee marker for their next
stroke.

Player A's ball lies outside the teeing area; she removes the tee marker and plays a stroke.
(Action permitted, Rule 15.2a(1)) Player B's ball lies in the teeing area; she removes the tee
marker and plays a stroke. (Action not permitted, Rule 6.2b(4)) Player C's ball lies in the teeing
area; she lifts the ball, moves to the center of the teeing area, re-tees the ball and plays a stroke.
(Action permitted, Rule 6.2b(6)) Which players receive a penalty for the actions taken?

Player B only.
Player C only.
Players A and B.

o 0w p

Players B and C.




T
Question #7

In a stroke play event on Hole #2, Player A pulls his tee shot left of the fairway. An official stationed in
the drive zone sees the ball land in deep fescue grass and signals for a provisional ball to be played.
The provisional ball also went left and came to rest about 15 feet left of the first ball, approximately
the same distance from the green. (Similar area to Provisional #1, search would be simultaneous, Cl.
Lost/2) The official signals for a second provisional ball to be played. The second provisional ball heads
left and hits a tree about 30 yards short of the first two shots. (Not in a similar area to Provisional #1
and #2, separate search) The official did not see it land and signals for a third provisional. Player A
switches to his 3-wood and finds the fairway with the third provisional. How long may the player
search for his tee shot and provisional balls before the third provisional becomes the ball in play?

A. 9 minutes to search for the original ball, first provisional, and second provisional simultaneously.
3 successive 3-minute searches without stipulating the order of search for the 3 balls.

C. 3 successive 3-minute searches in the order of searching for the original tee shot, first provisional,
second provisional.

D. 3 minutes to search for the first tee shot and first provisional simultaneously, then anop&r 3
minutes to search for the second provisional. A

=l
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Question #8

In a stroke play event after a brief rain delay, Player A tees off on a par 3 hole. Her shot lands on the green, but spins
off the left side of the green. When she gets to the area, she cannot find the ball and begins a search. After two
minutes, Player A steps on a ball and moves it in deep rough on the grassy face of the green side bunker. (No
penalty, A must replace on spot, Rule 7.4) She leans down and identifies the ball as hers. Player A then lifts and
cleans the ball (Permitted, Cl. 14.1c/2), identifies the estimated point where it was stepped on, and drops the ball
one foot directly behind that point. (Incorrect, ball must be replaced on the spot, Rule 7.4) The ball settles deeper
in the rough, at which point she considers taking unplayable relief. Player A grabs her 45-inch driver to measure out
the potential relief area, and finds that the putting green is within two club-lengths. Player A drops the ball one foot
behind and four feet right of the reference point, and it comes to rest on the green. (Correct procedure, 1PS for
unplayable. Where the ball comes to rest would have been within her unplayable relief area from the spot the
ball needed to be replaced, so the ball is no longer in a wrong place.) She places a marker to the side of the ball
and lifts the ball.(Permitted, Rule 14.13) Player A then tests the wetness of the putting green on her line of play
with the palm of her hand. (Permitted, Cl. 13.1e/1) She replaces the ball properly and takes two putts to hole out.
What is Player A’s score on the hole?

Talent Strokes Penalty Strokes

1 — Tee Shot 1 — Unplayable

o o % >
o v b W

2,3 — “Two putts to hole out”
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Question #8

* Blue X—Where A should have replaced the

ball % |

* Yellow X —Where ball came to rest after
drop 83

* Blue Relief Area — Unplayable relief area
from Blue X

* Yellow Relief Area — Unplayable relief area
from Yellow X

e Red X —Where ball came to rest after
unplayable relief
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Question #9

Players A, B, and C are paired together in a stroke play competition. A and B are sharing a caddie, Player C does not have a
caddie. On a par 3, A’s tee shot comes to rest on the fringe between a bunker and the green. B and C’s tee shots come to
rest in the same greenside bunker. As A and B’s caddie walks across the green to put down the bags, B and C go ahead and
play from the bunker.

B plays first from bunker, coming to rest in the fringe 2 feet right of A’s ball. B’s swing deposits sand on both the apron and
on the green near both A and B’s ball. C then plays from the bunker and brushes sand during his backswing (Not permitted,
general penalty for C, Rule 12.2b(1)) , with his ball coming to rest 2 feet left of A’s ball. He also deposits sand on both the
apron and the green near all 3 balls.

As A and B’s caddie returns with their putters, he repairs some natural wear and tear of the hole (general penalty for A and
B, Rule 13.1c). While C rakes the bunker, the caddie begins to brush sand away from the apron and green near A’s and B’s
balls (Permitted to restore worsened condition, but caddie must be authorized to do so, Rule 10.3b(2). General penalty,
no intervening event between the repair of the hole, 2 total PS for A and B). C also asks the caddie to brush away sand
near his ball, which the caddie does (Not permitted, general penalty for C, Rule 8.1a(4). A, B, and C each take 2 more
strokes to complete the hole. What are their scores for the hole? (A — 3 Talent Strokes + 2 Penalty Strokes = 5, B — 4 Talent
Strokes + 2 Penalty Strokes = 6, C — 4 Talent Strokes + 4 Penalty Strokes = 8)

All score 5.

All score 6.

—~~
A scores 5, B and C score 6.

A scores 5, B scores 6, C scores 8.
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Question #10

In a stroke play event (One Ball Rule not in effect), Player A decides to tee off with a Titleist Pro V1 ‘X-
Out’ range ball (Permitted, Cl. 4.2a(1)/2) on a long par 4 heavily guarded by water. His shot comes to
rest in temporary water in the fairway. Player A decides to take relief from the temporary water and
lifts the ball. After determining his relief area, he switches to a Bridgestone ball with a higher spin rate
and drops that ball in the relief area. (Permitted to substitute ball, Rule 6.3b)

His approach shot lands in a sprinkler head on the fringe of the green. He takes relief from the
sprinkler head, determines his relief area, but decides to switch to a regular Titleist Pro V1 and drops
that ball in the relief area (Permitted to substitute ball, Rule 6.3b). After chipping onto the green, he
marks and lifts his ball. Player A decides he would rather putt with the Bridgestone ball, replaces it on
the spot, removes his marker, and sinks the putt. (Not permitted to substitute ball, 1 PS, Rule 14.2a)
What is Player A’s score on the hole?

A 4

B. 5 Talent Strokes Penalty Strokes
C. 6 1 — Tee Shot 1 —Incorrectly
D. 7 substituted ball

2 — Approach into sprinker head

3 — Chip on to green

_ 4 — Sinks the putt



Question #11

In stroke play, Player A arrives at the first tee two minutes before his 9:00am tee time but then realizes that
his caddie has already gone forward to the expected landing area 300 yards away with all 14 of his clubs. The
player calls out to his caddie to quickly bring his driver back to the teeing area. Concerned the caddie did not
hear him and won’t make it back in time, Player A runs into the nearby pro shop, borrows a driver, and
returns to the tee with a ball and the borrowed club at exactly 9:01am (A was not ready to play at his
starting time). Upon returning, A sees that his caddie has begun to run back with driver in hand. Player A
asks the other players in the group, Player B and Player C, to tee off before him so that he may wait for his
driver. The caddie arrives on the tee at 9:03 and hands the driver to Player A (Ready to play no more than 5
minutes late, general penalty, Rule 5.3a Exception 1), who quickly tees off as the caddie holds the borrowed
driver and watches it land in the fairway (Borrowed club counts as club #15, General penalty, Rule 4.1b).
The caddie then hurries back to the pro shop to return the borrowed driver and follows A down the fairway
(Club #15 is taken out of play). Player A then proceeds to play the remainder of the round. In total, how
many penalty strokes has Player A received in this situation?

2 Penalty Strokes

A.

B. 4 1, 2 — Not ready to play at starting time
C. 6

D. Player A is disqualified. 3, 4 — Exceeding 14 Club limit on Hole #1
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Question #12

In stroke play, Player A sees his tee shot on Hole #3 (Ball A) come to rest just inside a red penalty area. He then declares a
provisional ball (Ball B) just in case. (Provisional is not allowed, A has knowledge his ball is in a RPA) Ball B comes to rest in
the general area 5 yards short of the estimated point where Ball A last crossed the edge of the penalty area. (Ball B is now
in play under S&D, Ball A is a wrong ball)

As he approaches Ball A and Ball B, he decides that he will try to play Ball A from within the penalty area, so he lifts Ball B
and puts it back in his bag (Lifted ball without marking, Rule 9.4b). He makes a stroke at Ball A, but the ball only moves 6
inches forward into an area of thick mud (Stroke at a wrong ball, general penalty, must correct, stroke does not count, Rule
6.3c) (2 total PS for lifting Ball B and stroke at Ball A, Rule 1.3c(4)). He then decides to take lateral relief for Ball A, using the
estimated point where Ball A first entered the penalty area and drops within his two club-length relief area no closer to the
hole. (Ball A is now in play, as it was dropped with intent to be in play. But he has not taken penalty area relief, as he did
not have a ball in play in the penalty area) He then plays Ball A onto the green (Played from a wrong place, the original
spot of Ball B was the right place, general penalty, not a serious breach), takes 2 additional strokes to hole out, and tees off
on Hole #4. What is Player A’s score on the 3™ Hole?

A. 10 Talent Strokes Penalty Strokes

B. 11
. 12 1 — Tee Shot with Ball A 1-S&D
D. Player Als disqualified. 2 — Tee Shot with Ball B 2, 3 —Stroke at a
wrong ball
3 — Plays Ball A on to green 4,5 - Wrong Place,

not a serious breach

4,5 — “2 additional strokes to hole

I out
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